Flying the impossible turn - career change at age 50

Hi,

Once again, the age old age question. And yet I am very curious to hear your feedback from the professionals.

I just turned 50 and after 20+ years in the IT business, this is perhaps the very last opportunity to jump ships and pursue what I have been passionate about my whole life. I have been a glider pilot at age 17 and a private pilot for 10 years now. Here is the scenario:

1. I don’t need to make aviation an opulent career. Not in for the money but for what I love to do. I would be perfectly happy to never move up beyond the regionals but stay or fly corporate, cargo, etc.
  2. I am single without children or dependents.
  3. I am completely debt free, no mortgage, loans or anything to pay back at this time.
  4. I am flexible to relocate
  5. Healthy, fit, sporty.
  6. Technically, I have some years of college education but no degree. I’m self-thought (continuous education my whole life) and worked my way up in the IT industry where I now make a decent 6 figure income as a systems developer in the SFO Bay Area.
  7. Making the switch now, I would still have 15 years in the new profession and more than a decade of service to offer to a prospective employer.

What’s your honest take on my proposition to make the “ultimate” career change? Your feedback is greatly appreciated.

Thank you.
Jason

1 Like

Jason,

As you said “once again, the age question”. It sounds like you’ve read some of the threads (which is good). Now you don’t say how much time you do have but we’re talking at least 6mos for training and maybe a year of instructing (I’m guessing you have a few hundred?). With that now you’re closer to 52 and about 13yrs of flying. Not bad for a career in the Regionals which you say is fine. You don’t have dependents or debt, don’t mind relocating and the Regionals are hiring like crazy and don’t require a degree.