Flight Training Schools that accept GI BILL

Hello everyone. New to this website. I am a USMC vet and looking to get into the aviation industry. Does anyone know of any flight schools in the Alabama area that accepts the GI BILL? I’ve been looking and so far haven’t found any that accepts it. Would love all and any suggestions. Thank you!

Sender Fi brother.

GI Bill doesn’t pay until after you have a Private Pilots license. Also it pays up to $13,000 and some change annually. So keep those things in mind while searching.

Just a heads up if you didn’t already know.

Auburn is probably the best aviation school I can think of in AL. As far as Part 141 schools strictly type schools, Sanders and Etheredge are the only two I know of.

Thanks man I appreciate that. In your opinion would it be better to go college and do that for 2 years or go to a flight training school? I would prefer to be able to go to flight school so it would be faster but I definitely want to use my GI BILL though

1 Like

Have you used the WEAMS site through the VA to search for a school? If you Google WEAMS it will let you search schools that accept the GI Bill for flight training. A quick glance shows Auburn University has a flight program that accepts VA benefits. If you go through a Part 141 program that’s in partnership with a university degree program then you GI Bill will cover more than just the $13K of vocational training.

Just so you know, it’s a long road to getting ratings when you go through a university program. Make sure you are prepared to spend the next several years just getting the required ratings to get to the CFI point. The benefit will be the GI Bill will cover the entire cost of flight training and college since Auburn is a public school, especially if they have the Yellow Ribbon program. Just don’t go over your 36 months of benefits!