Flight school and/or university

Hi! My name Luis Blanco and I’ve been interested in becoming a pilot for a long time. I’m currently a senior in high school and about to leave for college in a few months. I got accepted into Portland state university and there’s a big chance I will be going to Portland. My question is, is it possible for me to begin the ATP flight school program while at the same time studying for my bachelors degree? In other words, how much hours of class and commitment does the course require weekly. I am a dedicated hardworking student and while I have a passion for flying, I believe that a college education is still very important. And if there is any chance that I can pursue both of these things at the same time, I’m willing to make that decision.
Thanks and I’m looking forward to hearing from one of you guys soon.

Hi Luis,

You and Eric are both 100% correct. Education is important AND you can’t go to college and ATP at the same time. There are of course aviation universities and colleges with aviation programs (Embry Riddle, Kent State, to name a couple) that integrate flight training with your regular studies. The only downside as I see it is you’re really putting all your eggs in 1 basket. I believe a diversity in education is a good thing. If for some reason you decide flying really isn’t for you or the industry takes a very ugly turn, you’ve got a Plan B. But that’s my take. Another possible route would be to maybe get your Private license locally in your spare time. Then next year on summer break complete the ATP Career course. After that see if you can get a part-time instructor gig to build time while you’re still in school. That way when you graduate you’d only have to instruct a short time to get to the required 1500 hrs.

As you can see there are any number of ways to do this. You just need to figure out which is best for Luis.

Adam

1 Like