First Flight August & Hillsboro Location Advice

Hello dear pilots, and students of ATP flight school.

I am strongly considering to attend ATP (starting January) at their location in Hillsboro Oregon.

Has anyone attended this location? I know size and amount of instructors can have an impact on students.

Besides this I have scheduled a discovery flight on August 24th with my mentor (787 Pilot) and with an instructor. I studied typical procedures, parts of the aircraft, how the aircraft operates, checklist, clearance, aviation alphabet, etc… and the instrument panel of the Cessna 172.

(Mainly the “six pack”: Airspeed Indicator, Attitude Indicator/Artificial Horizon, Altimeter, Turn Coordinator, Vertical Speed Indicator, Heading).

I want to be able to understand what is going on to the best of my ability to get the best experience out of my first flight, and to show my mentor that I am dedicated to this path that he’s helping me with.

What are some things you recommend to study pre-first flight.

Thank you for your time and reading, ATP sounds like a great school.

I’m receiving more information through the mail (from ATP) and planning to do my admissions flight as well. I am just figuring out if I want to attend the closer location (to cut some expenses such as moving and relocating) or take up the extra costs and attend a location like in Arizona where there seems to be more stability for students (being that it’s a much larger location).

Any advice would be much appreciated.
Kaytlyn Sandu.

1 Like

Kaytlyn,