First Class Medical

Alrght, so I really want to go for being an airline pilot, however, I have one last thing that concerns me. For the medical, it says no mental/personality issues. I have been diagnosed with PTSD from childhood abuse. It never really causes me any problems, just makes me sad if I think too much about it. Will that destroy my chances of becoming a pilot?

Aurora

Aurora,

First I’m very sorry about your condition. I have friends who’ve served in the military and suffer greatly from that. You will be asked about any “psychological” issues before being granted an FAA medical. I don’t believe that’s immediate cause for a denial but I’m also not an expert. Your best bet would be to contact a local AME (aviation medical examiner) and have a conversation with them. It’s definitely something you’re going to want to get resolved prior to beginning training which is why ATP requires you to get a First Class medical first.

Adam

Adam,

No apologies necessary, I’ve pretty well come to terms with the fact that the past is the past and nothing will ever change it. Like I said it never really causes me any problems! :smile: How do I go about finding an AME? Maybe I can call and ask them. Just want to make sure in advance that it won’t stop my plans in their tracks!

Aurora

Aurora,

If you go on the FAA’s website and look under “Airmen Certification” you can find a link that will help you located an AME. You might want to actually go sit down and talk with them, it will cost you a few dollars but is the best way to really get to the bottom on this. I think your issue is a little to complex to address over the phone. You should bring any medical records that you have that pertain to your condition.

Chris

1 Like

Chris,