Finish School First?

Hello all, I’m currently a sophomore in college and working towards a business degree. I’m also working towards my PPL and will be done soon. I was thinking about doing the fast track program after my school year is done in May, and do it over the summer before I start my junior year. That way I can become a CFI for local flight school and still do school at same time. However, I was thinking that it would also be a good idea to just focus on my school and keep current with my PPL. Then when I graduate, join ATP, become an ATP CFI and just focus on flying. What are your thoughts on the two options? Positives and negatives to each one?

Thanks, Jesse

Hello Jesse and welcome,

Both are pretty solid plans. I actually like the going to ATP over the summer and instructing parttime (and maybe fulltime over the summers) PROVIDED you can build the flight time by the time you graduate. My advice would be to talk to the local flight school and get some idea of how busy they are and how much flying you’ll do. The idea is to get to the magic 1500hrs ASAP. If in 2 yrs working parttime you’re still going to be way shy of the 1500hrs then I’d probably wait. If however you find you can make a solid dent in it I’d say it’s worth. It’s really just a matter of doing the math. If you wait you can figure 2yrs (or less) from when you graduate from college with ATP the whole way. In order to make it work you’d want to be able to shave a fair amount off of that.

Adam

Thanks for your input Adam! Yes, I will certainly talk to the local flight schools and put some estimates into it and weigh them out.

Thanks again, Jesse

Jesse,