FAA Knowledge Exams

AirlinePilot Mentors,
First of all, thank you for the information thus far regarding my previous questions. This forum is a great resource! As I continue to plan for a start date perhaps by end of this year, or by early next year, I have some additional questions.

#1 - Regarding the required FAA knowledge exams, does ATP require scores of past exams? I am currently a rotorcraft helicopter flight instructor, and have passed the helicopter commercial and CFI knowledge exams. I have also passed the fixed-wing private pilot knowledge exam and the FOI knowledge exam. I have the scores for all of these. Am I required to provide that paperwork to ATP?

#2 - In light of #1 above, will the instrument fixed-wing knowlege exam be the only FAA knowledge exam I am required to take during the airline pilot program?

Thanks again,
Dave Hoppmann

Dave,

ATP does not require past exams or scores provided you have the ratings. If your FW Private written is still current you’re good with that. The FOI is not necessary if you already have your CFI. You will however need your Instrument Airplane, Commercial Airplane, Flight Instructor Airplane, Flight Instructor Instrument exams.

Adam

Thanks, Adam.
I have my work cut out; I plan to study for, and pass all those prior to first day, which I think will make the actual training more optimal. And since I recently took early retirement from my “day job” in health care industry, I should have plenty of time.

I’ll write again with other questions as they come up!

Thanks again,
Dave

Dave,

Definitely a good idea. As you’re aware the Knowledge exams don’t really follow any actual curriculum so getting them out of the way will lighten your load significantly.

Adam

If you were to take all the knowledge exams prior to starting ATP, Do all the knowledge exams require a ground school course before you can take the exam? I know in order to take the private exam you do.

Joshua,