Earnings and income vs. Costs and time

Hello,

I’m a female 24 year old college student/professional. I’m a total newbie to pilot training, just starting to research the process. I’ve been obsessed with the idea of becoming a pilot since I was a kid, but I always thought it’d be out of reach, too expensive, and I’ve heard a lot of people say how they wanted to but it was unrealistic.

I have nothing to pay out of pocket, no real savings, and no help from family. I work a full time job to support myself and go to school part tim (majoring in international business).

So my question is, are these stories true for my case, or is it realistic to take out a loan and jump into it?

I understand after graduating I can expect to earn only about $40,000 annually for the first 5 to 10 years before I can make any real money. Am I going to be poor and drowning in debt? Also, is it plausible to do something else on the side to earn extra cash during those first years or will the job be totally time consuming?

Hi Ingrid,

You ask “are these stories true” but I’m not really sure what stories you’re referring to? I’ll make an assumption that you’re basically asking can you afford to be a pilot? The answer is that’s entirely up to you.

If you don’t have the funds then yes that will mean taking out a loan. The nice part is many Regionals are offering Tuition Reimbursement and/or hiring bonuses and that can take some of the bite out of the debt. First year pay is approx. $40k and will continue to creep into the mid to upper $40s until you upgrade in 3-5yrs where you’ll be in the $60-70k range. There you’ll stay until you hopefully make it to a Major where after a few years you’ll be well into the low 6 figures. The good news is after a few years widebody Capt can make up to $400k.