Debt free route

Hi,

I’m 22 years old in the Air Force as an Aircraft Maintenance technician, I have flown a few small Cessnas before and I love flying. I also want a good paying job once I get out of the military which will be in about a year, thus why i’m looking to become an airline pilot. I want to remain debt free going into aviation even if I have to save up to pay for it. I have found a couple schools to except the Gi-bill to pay for everything except a PPL. So as of right now my plan for when I get out of service is to take that option and work while doing my training for two years ( plus or minus a few months.).

Any way, being a youngster in this area I have a few questions and figured I would join this community.

-First off, how long should I be expecting to be making a low income ( under 50-60k) after I get my first actual regional job after my 1500 hr mark?

-Secondly how many times a week should I be taking my flight lesson? i know there willbe many factors but just an estimate would be great.

Thanks
-Tim

Tim,

A few things first. Training locally, part-time you’ll be extremely fortunate if you can get all your training done in 2yrs. Many people take that long just to get their Privates. After that you’ll need to build the required 1500hrs and even if you can fly 100hrs a month that’s at least 15mos. On to your questions.

1. Regional pay is the best it’s ever been but it’s still low by comparison. You won’t break $50k till you upgrade to Capt. Depending on the airline these days that’s anywhere from 2-4yrs but again that’s now. By the time you’re there it could more or less time.

2. Anything less than 2 days a week is really a waste but more is always better. There’s a reason why the airlines and the military train their pilots daily.

Adam

1 Like

Tim,