Crossroads in Career

Hey gang,

I’m new to the forums here. For a little background on myself, I’m 23, just graduated from a 4-year state university with a bachelors in Aviation Management. My last semester there I got my private license. I currently work in operations at a part 139 airport. Although I enjoy airport ops, I’d much rather be in the cockpit. I’ve pretty much made up my mind that here in about a year, i’ll go back to get the rest of my pilot certificates and pursue flying as a career. The reason for the year-long break is so I can save up a little bit of money before diving into flight training completely. I have no student debt from college, but I’ve pretty much come to terms with the fact that i’ll most likely have to take out loans for flight training.

My options are either to go back to a university program (part 141) or ATP. The biggest benefit of 141 is that I have my bachelors degree, and finishing my instrument and commercial via 141 will let me utilize the Restricted ATP minimums. however, the training alone for that could still take roughly 2 years, and that’s really only up to my commercial rating. OR I can go to the local ATP center here in town and get everything done through the ACPP within their posted timeframe and then CFI for a year or so, but have to meet the regular 1500 mins.

I apologize, its not much of a question. I just would like some input from those on the other side. thanks!

Mitchell,

Welcome to the forums and thanks for the detailed introduction, it helps us be able to better answer your questions.