CRM And Personnel Issues

After nearly 20 years as a medic and firefighter, I am well aware of the minor little day-to-day conflicts that arise when you spends hours and days working in close quarters with people. I was wondering what are some of the little things that a CPT and FO might disagree on? (Not fight/argue, just see differently)

For example, at the firehouse some people like A/C and some prefer windows down. Some prefer to take highways for smoother trips and some prefer back streets to shave some time off the drive. I prefer to manage the radio (because I’m a stickler for clear/concise traffic) and others like to treat it like a phone and talk all day. What little things come up on the flight deck?

Chris,

The Captain and FO never disagree, because the Captain is always right.

All kidding aside, there is a hierarchy to the airlines and as an FO, I always deferred to the Captain on small things like you mention. For example, most pilots like to fly with the interior lights on full bright at night, I can’t stand it, but if the Captain wants the lights on, then the lights will be on. Same thing with the speaker volume, I like to use the headsets, but many guys like to use the speaker instead. There can be other things, like which way to deviate around a thunderstorm, but if I think left and the Captain thinks right, unless there is some very compelling reason to go left, I am not going to say anything about going right.

Now if there is a an issue that is a safety of flight issue, that is a whole different story, but the vast majority of issues are not and the phrase “Yes, Captain” will get you along way in life.

Chris

Pretty much as expected with the CPT getting final say on most things. I was just curious what topics popped up. Most of the issues that pop up in my line of work could be easily solved with checklists and company guidelines (I work smaller/rural areas where these are rarely used… if they even exist)