Color Vision Deficiency

My name is Justin Morrison, I am a 24 year old student at a 141 program looking to start ATP.

So I always dreamed of becoming a commercial pilot. I tried to go to flight school straight out of high school and I couldn’t afford it. Well 5 years later I decided I would try to pursue this again. I went for a medical and found out I couldn’t read the color plate test. So I had night restriction put on my certificate. This was deeply discouraging. A year later after many hours of researching what I could do, I found out that the FAA accepts alternative forms of testing for color vision. Needless to say I passed one of the alternative forms and now have an unrestricted first class medical.

However the test I passed is fairly old and very hard to find. I have not given up on my dream to be a commercial pilot, after spending a year at 141 program I am now preparing for my private check ride and would like to attend ATP after the Holidays. I know from my experience that my color vision deficiency does not effect my performance as a pilot.

Im just worried about the testing since it is required at each medical renewal.

Anyone know someone thats experienced this?

Or give insight on medical exams and examiners?

Hello Justin,

I don’t know anyone but what I can tell you is the AME is controlling and if you were able to get a First Class before I don’t see why you couldn’t again? If it were me I’d just keep going back to the same AME. You say the test you took was “old and hard to find”? Well if this is important to you I’d find it! As long as it’s still acceptable again I don’t see why you’d have an issue and btw you’re 24 so it obviously wasn’t that long ago.

Adam

Do most airline pilots develop a relationship with one specific AME?

Justin,