College and Job Placement

Hello,

I am currently a student at the University of Kansas studying French, Italian, and Spanish. I have always had an interest in becoming a pilot but have been scared away by the cost. I have thought about going to ATP after I graduate and do their Airline Career Pilot Program but I have a few questions in regards to the program and what happens after you finish it:

• Can you describe the process in order to get one of the job placement agreements (particularly envoy)? Is it selective or do the majority of ATP students get an agreement?

• Is it a good idea to complete my flight training after I graduate college?

• Is there better opportunity at certain ATP centers? If so, which ones?

Overall I am worried about the cost and job placement opportunities. I want to make sure that I have a good understanding of the realities of doing the program and trying to obtain one of the job placement agreements.

Thank you,

Anthony

Hi Anthony and welcome,

The initial outlay can be a little daunting, but the returns can far out weigh the investment. Ok lets answer your questions:

1. Fairly simple. Once you have between 300-500hrs built as an ATP Flight Instructor ATP will arrange for an interview with the Regional(s) of your choice. While ATP students do get preferential interviews and ATP maintains agreements for those with the airline, understand that these are interviews and it’s ultimately up to you to secure a position. Right now the Regionals are very short on pilots and demand is very high. Provided you have no blemishes on your record (multiple checkride failures, DUIs or other criminal offenses) you should have no problem securing a position.