Chris - Biography

Hello, and welcome to the forums. My interest in aviation began when I was a small child and would go to the airport with my mother to pick my father up from trips. I am actually a third generation airline pilot as my father flies for US Airways and both of my grandfathers flew for TWA. Growing up in an airline household I was exposed to the industry and always thought of being a pilot as one of my career possibilities.

While I have always been interested in aviation, I did not begin to pursue it as a career until my junior year of college. At some point during my studies I realized that although I liked business, it was not the field for me. I went out to the local FBO and took an introductory flying lesson and from that point on I was hooked. I finished my private certificate, graduated from Old Dominion University, and then went to ATP Washington to interview for the Career Pilot Program. I was accepted into the program and began the next month. Exactly ninety days later I finished up my last certificate. I was very fortunate in that I was hired by ATP five days after I graduated. During my year of instruction with ATP I taught at Fort Lauderdale, Washington DC, and Norfolk, VA.

I was hired by Piedmont Airlines and ExpressJet Airlines almost simultaneously and for various reasons chose to go with ExpressJet. I was with ExpressJet for just under two years and loved every minute of it. In February of 2007 I was hired by Continental Airlines and was assigned the Boeing 737. While I really enjoyed flying the 737 I switched to the 757 & 767 in 2010 to see what they had to offer. On December 1, 2011 Continental Airlines officially become part of United Airlines.

I have since had two more stints on the 737, one more on the 757/767 and am now a Captain on the Airbus 319/320.