Choosing Daytona or Tampa Location?

Ok now that I have decided that I am coming to ATP, I need to choose a location.

I live an equal distance between Daytona and Tampa so travel time is roughly the same.

My questions are such:

Daytona seems to have more aircraft and resources than the Tampa location, but is the airport so much busier that I will spend way more time on the ground waiting for clearance for departure? So less time in the air gaining actual flying time? Are the resources/equipment at Daytona worth the delays getting into the air each flight?

How does ATP feel/handle a situation if a student starts at one location and wants to switch to another location midway through training?

Dennis,

Honestly, and this isn’t a sales pitch, all of the locations are pretty darn similar. I instructed at three different locations when I was an instructor and filled in temporarily at two others. Some of the locations were large, others small, but the equipment and instructor to student ratio was always about the same. I never had difficulties securing the resources I needed for my students at any of the locations.

As for airspace, Florida is a pretty packed environment no matter which airport you fly in and out of. I did most of my instructing at the former Norfolk International location and was always able to slide out pretty quickly in-between large jet arrivals, it just wasn’t a factor for me.

If you want to transfer locations you will need to do it in-between ratings so as not to have to transfer instructors right in the middle of training for a particular rating.

In short, I would just pick the location that is most convenient to you and go for it.

Chris

2 Likes