Brief Intro and figuring out my start date

Hi, I’ve been active in the forums more or less since October of last year. My name is Vern and I’m 38 with a beautiful wife and 17 month old daughter. My wife was very generous and gifted me with an intro flight at the ATP location here in Centennial, CO. I chose to fly the Seminole and it felt awesome!!! I had a great flight with a fun instructor who allowed me to handle the Seminole on my own for the most part the entire flight, except for one landing that she completed. After we exited the runway on that landing, we taxied back, powered up and I completed the next landing. I hadn’t flown since 2004 but had a really fun time flying and it felt good being back in the cockpit!!

More about me, I’m a paramedic for a living and recently promoted to a Lieutenant with my combo department. I’ve been in medicine for 17 years now and find myself working 90-120 hours a week (we do 24s so it’s easy to get there) but at the same time I’m starting to realize that I’m getting burned out and it’s time to start realistically considering a career change. Fortunately for me I’ve met two friends who are now Captains after recent promotions, one at Skywest and one at Frontier Airlines. They’re both awesome people and one is still an active EMT with one of the departments that I’m working for and the other recently let go of his paramedic (being a Captain and trying to maintain licensure is hard work!). Thanks to both of them and my love for flying they’ve inspired me to seriously considering changing careers.