Becoming a pilot with misdemeanor charges

So let me start out with a little background I am 27 and have been in the aviation industry for about 5 years, I’ve got a whopping 9 hours flight time. I’ve worked the regionals and mainline as an a&p mechanic. My goal was to get a good enough job where I could afford to learn to fly, and work my way from the wrench to the yoke. Well with all the work as a mechanic I lost sight of what I wanted and stopped pursuing my goal. Recently I was convicted of a few misdemeanors indecent exposure and evading. I was rightfully terminated from a legacy carrier and in my off time here in evaluating my life I’ve been thinking. Yeah I made a huge mistake and had a terrible lapse in judgement. But I’ve learned just how important judgement making truly is, and I know exactly where I would like to go with my life. My debt to society is just about paid and my charges should be expunged but there are still news articles related to this and my dmv record which can’t be expunged. My question is, is it even worth it anymore to pursue becoming a pilot? Will a regional carrier hire me with this record let alone a mainline? I guess I’m just looking for some career advice anything would help. Thanks in advance.

Hello Nicholas,

I have to be honest, this is a tough one. While I hate to be the guy to squash someone’s goals (particularly when this is really speculation on my part), you definitely have a few obstacles in your way.