Austin TX Location vs Other locations

Hi Everyone,

I’m planning on starting my training with ATP early next year (Feb/March) and was wondering if any students/CFIs/alumni could chime in about the Austin location and their experience there. E.I. How’s the weather, did you like the smaller location, how hectic is the airspace, are there any unique challenges/benefits to training in Austin, etc.

I’m currently from Minneapolis, MN and will be kind of “starting over” career wise, moving myself and my dog to an entirely new environment after quitting my office job.

I have a bachelor’s degree, my 1st class medical, experience flying various airplanes (small planes and the simulators for an A320 and a 747) and I have a pretty good idea about the life of an airline pilot (my Dad is a retired airline pilot).

My next steps are to schedule my ATP discovery flight, apply for financing, and select a location. I’m currently leaning towards either Austin (my current favorite) or Tampa. Any input would be much appreciated! Thanks guys!

Laura,

While I have no experience with the Austin location I can tell you ATP strives to deliver a consistent training experience throughout all their locations. Further, even if someone were to chime in and say the Austin was fantastic because of one particular instructor or the instructor/student ratio etc. Know that all these factors are dynamic and chances are they’ll be new instructors there by the time you arrive. In short, choose a location you like and works best for you.

Adam

I’m sure @Tucker can chime in about Tampa. If you are considering Tampa, check out Daytona as well. I can definitely recommend.