ATP now?

Hello all,
I’ve asked a few questions regarding this before but will get into more detail. I’m currently a sophomore in college going for a business degree and also 2/3 way done my PPL at a local flight school. I understand seniority is everything, so sooner i start the sooner I can get to airlines. I would love to start ATP after I finish up my school year. Complete ATP and then instruct with them. During that whole time I would not do school. Hopefully when I become CFI and/or FO in regionals I finish the rest of my schooling online. Do you know if it’s possible to have my credits transfer over to online school even after about 2 years of no school? Does this plan sound good? Or to finish college and then do ATP which may take longer to get to regionals. Hope this makes sense.

Thanks, Jesse

Hey Jesse,

What you are asking is really a college question and it is 100% on the school you are intending to transfer to about what they will or won’t accept for transfer credits. You will have to contact the various schools you are interested in to find out how they transfer credits as there are no standard rules.

I wouldn’t presume to tell you what choice to make its your life you have to be good with the choices you make. What I can tell you though is I enjoyed college, the skills and friends you learn and make there will follow you for the rest of your life. There is so much more to college than just the classroom, it is really more a time of self discovery in a semi controlled environment. Looking back on it I wouldn’t give up my college experience for anything. Any time that college comes up I am reminded of the accomplishment of graduating but also of the ride that it was. While online will get you through to a piece of paper the ride doesn’t begin to compare.

Hope that helps
John

John thanks for you input, i appreciate it! Is something to think about because I am involved in the school (clubs, sports, etc.)

Jesse,