ATP Flight Instructor Base

Hi guys I wondered if someone might be able to enlighten me as to how ATP assigns instructors to bases once training is complete and a graduate has been offered employment as an instructor.

I get the impression from talking to them that this decision is made for the employee and you go where they need you. That’s ok if you’re younger, unmarried, no kids etc. However, it would be nearly impossible for me to be assigned somewhere far from my home for 12 - 18 months.

As a newly employed instructor can you request a specific base and wait for that. In my case that would be Austin, TX (GTU). Or is it possible to do shift work like 4 on 3 off at a location close to your home (i.e. Dallas or Houston for me)?

Thanks!

1 Like

Jim,

You are correct in that bases are assigned to instructors based on the
needs of the company.

I can’t make any promises that anyone will get the base that they want, or
be able to request their preferred base. When I was an instructor
(2015-2017), ATP guaranteed a base transfer within the first 4 months of
instruction. Towards the end of my time as an instructor, things changed.
ATP had taken that 4 month transfer guarantee away briefly. I wasn’t
complaining because I had my preferred base from day 1. I was lucky.

I still keep in touch with some of the instructors that I worked with. They
finally got their preferred bases after about 12 months since they started
working for ATP.

So, it’s just one of those things that’s completely outside of your control
that needs to be seriously considered when deciding who to instruct for.

Jim,

ATP’s NEW (current) policy is you will be given a choice of 3 available locations and hopefully one of those will work for you. If not, than you can always look for a local flight school. I understand that’s not ideal but that’s the reality. One more factor to consider.

Adam

Thanks guys. Sorta what I thought. Definitely a critical consideration.

Hi guys,