ATP Admissions Flight

Hello everyone,

I am getting ready to schedule my admissions flight in about a week and im currently a brand new pilot with zero time. I meet the requirements with my military service but i have not done ground school or anything and i wanted to know if that’s going to impact my chances of being admitted into ATP sense i have never personally done any flying myself. Also i watched the modules and i am assuming its just a facility tour, pre-flight briefing and some time at the controls. If there are any tips anyone has to increase my chances of being accepted i would most appreciate it.

Thanks,
Patrick H.

Patrick,

You need absolutely zero experience for your admissions flight. It’s not a test and it’s not something to stress over. It’s simply an opportunity for you to meet ATP and ATP to meet you. Many people believe they want to fly but have never been in a small plane. For most its all they thought and more but others freak. Not much sense in going through the financing, medical etc. after that. It’s also just to make sure you’re trainable. During the flight your instructor will give you some simple instructions. If they say turn left and your puzzled that’s a problem. If they say pull back gently and you try and stand the plane on its tail that too could be an issue. If that all sounds doable then as I said relax and enjoy the ride. If it sounds overwhelming then again you could have an issue.

Adam

1 Like

Thanks for the advice adam! I have been an aviation maintenance technition for about 5 years so being in and around all types of aircraft has never been a problem me. I just wasnt sure if my lack of flight time or the fact that I havent done any ground schools or testing put me at a disadvantage against other applicants.

The program ATP offers is basically meant for people with no experience, or a PPL, so you are definitely not behind :slight_smile: which location are you taking the flight at?

Joshua,