Airline Career Path Risks

To anyone who is a pilot and can answer this for me it would be appreciated. What are the risks involved if I attend a 4 year university and get my bachelor degree that is integrated with flight training through that university at the same time? The college I’m looking at offers a B.S. in Proffesional Pilot and has flight training with that degree and they have you regional airline ready and are partnered with many regional airlines.

1 Like

Wyatt,

Let me be clear in that I think that going to an aviation college can be a good thing, there are just a few potential issues that come to mind:

1. Lack of a backup plan. If your degree is in something like “aeronautical science” that really doesn’t leave you any backup skills if something happens to your ability to fly or to the industry in general. I have a business degree and while it is rather old at this point it still gives me a different set of knowledge and skills should I ever need to leave aviation for some reason.

2. Cost. Some of these aviation colleges can cost A LOT of money. Make sure to read their fine print fully and find out exactly what you will pay if going through their program, plus how far will their program take you? Will you have your multi engine instructor certificate? How much multi engine time will you have when you graduate?

3. CFI. Do they guarantee you a job as CFI? How much flight time per month do their instructors get? How much are they paid?

Find out the answers to those questions and it will help you make a better informed decision.

Chris

2 Likes

Chris,

1. You have to do aeronautical Science for the flight school. So that would be a negative.
  2. They are very reasonable on cost, flight school is 60,000 about and 50,000 for the degree. They take you all the way to ATP certificate
  3. You instruct other students as a CFI and it is a guaranteed job. Not sure on the hours or pay.