A pilot's psychology, philosophy, and humanity

Hello Everybody,
Flying jets for big, small, and personal airlines is a big responsibility. The career is very serious. But also, a pilot must enjoy his or her career with long-term commitment happiness. Unfortunately, 80% of all good and bad accidents happen because human error. Thanks to innovative technology, there are tools to help pilots make better judgement calls.
I am currently a college student attending a four-year university. There are many things that happen in college. Diversity, community, creativity, obedience, learning, law and order is what exist in today’s college society. I am a huge believer in safety in transportation, tranquility in the skies, and value for human life. Is creativity to promote safety and security welcomed in the civilian airline industry? If I were to become a pilot, will I have a daily medical examination? Is happiness, enjoyment, and having fun endorsed by the airline industry?

From,
Thomas Kim

Hello Thomas,

In addition to being a pilot I’m also a Human Factors/CRM instructor and have been for a while. You are correct that 80% of all aviation accidents are caused by human error (though I’m not certain I’d call any of them “good”?). So let’s answer your questions (as best I can as some seem somewhat nebulous).