4 year school VS ATP

So I’m new to all this, but I’ve read several posts, and you “Pilot Mentors” say you absolutely need a degree to fly in the Major airlines, to make “really good money”. Why would I not just go to a four year school and earn my degree as well as become a Pilot at the same time? Rather than just going to ATP and only be able to fly in the regional airlines, then after all the expenses ATP is, go back to school for another few years, spend even more money earning a degree to fly in the major airlines. Why not just go to a 4 year and get it all done then and there. I’m not trying to sound like a jerk, I’m just honestly wondering.

Nicholas,

It all comes down to time and seniority. You spend four years at a Part 141 university and get your commercial license. Ok. Now you have to spend time thereafter getting your Instructor ratings and find a school that can get you enough hours in 1-2 years. So by the time you’re applying for the regionals you’re at ~6 years.

Now take ATP. You go through the ACPP in 6-9 months. While instructing with ATP you are already in the interview process with the regionals. Most pilots who come through the program and remain a CFI meet their minimums by at least 2 years. You get picked up by the regionals and start building turbine time. By your 3-4th year (some, not all airlines) you are upgrading to Captain now building turbine PIC time. During this time you can knock out a degree as an airline pilot as your work day ends when you push up to the gate and shutdown.

With all the cards on the table you can easily lose up to 4 years of seniority and pay by going to a Part 141 4-year college. In the end the choice is yours.

Best Regards,

Michael

Nicholas,