4 on 4 off schedule

Hello all,

First off I would like to thank everyone for the great advise on this website. Like everyone on here I have a passion for flying. I currently work in the business world and literally only doing so because of my awesome schedule. If it was not for my schedule of working 4 days on and 4 days off I would for sure be doing something else (like being a pilot!). I recently started taking flight lessons here in Green Bay, WI at Pilotsmith and it has been an incredible experience. Although, now I am stuck as to what I should do. I know flying is in my future, but don’t know if I should pursue becoming a commercial pilot now or just wait to get my private license when I retire someday and can afford a smaller plane. I think it would be great to become a pilot IF I can have a 4 on 4 off schedule. Below are my main questions:

1. Is it possible to get a 4 on 4 off schedule as a pilot or something similar to that?

2. If so, would it only be possible after gaining seniority?

3. Do you have to fly a minimum amount of hours monthly? Money is not our main concern as we have saved up over the years and wife also makes good money. Family time is our biggest concern BUT would love to be able to also fly.

4. Anyone happen to know if Pilotsmith is a good flight school for me to go to? Or does anyone know of a good school in Green Bay or Appleton, WI area that they can recommend?

My background:

I am 29 years old, married, and have a 3 year old daughter. I have my associates degree in “Leadership Development”. If I became a pilot I believe I would be fine staying in regionals if that means easiest way to get the schedule I would be after. My wife works the same schedule as me so we would like to keep that going.

Thanks in advance,

Dustin

Dustin,

Only you can decide if flying should be your career or just a hobby but let’s get to your questions and maybe that’ll help.