36yo no degree, zero experience and about to start!

I have done my introductory flight and i love it. I will have my first class medical done this week and if is all good i will make the deposit, once I have access to study material I will prepare for all the written exams that i plan to do before start.

I have no degree, i am originally from Brazil living here for 15 years and i am also a american citizen. Based on my work history i am eligible for ATP school.

I have no aviation experience, i am very determined and i know this wont be a issue, and I am glad i have the funds so I wont need a student loan.

Based on my research i know that i will need a degree in order to work at the majors, but because i will be close to 40 by the time I start, I am not sure if will be the best move to get a degree during the time i am at the regional, and then go to the majors and start all over as a new hire.

My question is can i have a good career working only at the Regionals? Have a good schedule and make good $? What is the salary for a capitan at the Regionals? And how long until i am there?

Also i have a wife and a kid, my wife has a good job here in Los Angeles. Are the odds in my favor to get a job based here in LA?

This forum have been very helpful for me to make this decision, I really appreciate you mentors for answer all the questions, and Adam you been one of my big inspirations to do this, i know you start at 39 and i plan to start at 37, you are the proof that i am not too old and this is very possible!

1 Like

Andre,