36 and thinking about career switch to becoming a pilot

Good evening

My name is Senad Pali. I am 36 years old and live in NYC. I have a masters degree in accounting but my line of work has nothing to do with my education. I currently work for the city of NY with 22 year retirement plan, pension and benefits. I like what I do but I don’t feel challenged. It’s hard too give up all that and if I do, my next career has to be worth it. I was thinking about ATP school here in New Jersey which is close to me but I am having a little trouble getting loan approval since I already have loans that I am paying for school. I am sure I may be able to find a way. When I spoke to a recruiter he threw me a little off on the pilot pay. I was told Regional pilots can make up to $100k and the majors make more. I already can make more working for the current job I do now. This is the thing holding me back and was told pilots now retire at 65. By 65, I would already be retired from my current job. Any advice from any pilot in here if at worth me getting into more loans which would prob be over $100k including loans I have now. Thank you

Senad,

For a break down of what pilots earn, take a look at this article that I wrote: https://airlinepilot.life/t/what-do-pilots-really-earn

I would encourage you to do a lot of research into this profession, there are a lot of great websites out there, including this one. It sounds like you have some tough personal decisions to make. On the retirement front, pilots have to retire at age 65, but can retire sooner if they are financially able.

I can’t tell you if flight training is worth it or not, only you can make that decision. We are happy to help answer your questions though as you explore this career possibility.

Chris

Senad,

To be clear, it is possible to earn over $100k/year at a regional, but that
requires a minimum of 10 years at a regional to reach that pay scale. That