2 Year College vs. 4 Year College

Hello! My name is Paul and I’m currently a sophomore in high school. I’ve been training for my private pilot’s license for the past two years or so and hope to solo in February, before completing my check ride the following year. My main inspiration in flying came from my uncle who flew in the Air Force for 8 years, before transitioning to United and flying the 737 out of Chicago. I have recently been looking over various collegiate aviation programs and have been comparing the benefits of an associate’s degree in aviation to those of a bachelor’s degree in aeronautical science. I have highly enjoyed my experience thus far in training for my private pilot’s license, and was wondering if you might have any thoughts on how far you may truly go with an associate’s degree and online bachelor’s degree as a pilot flying for the airlines. I understand that few, if any major airlines hire pilots without a bachelor’s degree, and some cargo airlines may be more lenient. Does an online bachelor’s degree still count? I am quite eager to log time and earn my ratings which is why a two year college looks a bit more appealing to me due to the pace of training. On the other hand, a bachelor’s degree seems to be the more popular route, though I’m not sure if I’d want to attend a more expensive school and spend 2 extra years there, as a pose to gaining real world experience. Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!

Hello Paul and welcome,

Really good question! First off congrats on your up-coming solo and kudos for your progress to date. Sounds like you definitely know exactly where you’re going.