$1150 speeding ticket

Hello all,
Today I got caught speeding on an empty section of highway very early in the morning. 100mph in a 55mph, an $1150 fine, and possible 30-90 day drivers license suspension. I have no prior criminal record. I plan to go to court and plea no contest and talk with the judge. I am an 18-year-old student pilot about to take my PPL checkride with hopes of getting to the majors. I am very concerned that my momentary lapse of judgment will come back to haunt me severely when I try to apply for CFI, regionals, majors, etc. Obviously, I will never do this again, but do you guys think this will turn down future employers?
Thank you for your advice,
John

John,

You should be concerned but obviously you weren’t concerned enough. Sadly in today’s environment IF you remain clean (which is a BIG IF?) you should be fine due to the shortage and the fact you won’t be ready to interview for a few years. That said let’s be clear, if/when you get invited to interview at DesperateAir and they ask about this license suspension, when you tell them “it was a momentary lapse of judgment” “on an empty section of the highway early in the morning” you should know if someone like me is sitting on the other side of the desk you’d be done. Let’s examine the situation, since I’ve been driving twice as long as you’ve been alive I know cars don’t just hit 100mph, it takes time and pressure on the gas pedal to pass 55, 65, 75, 85, 95 and eventually 100. Further the fact that you recognize the fact it was early on an empty road means you analyzed the situation and foolishly MADE THE DECISION that it was cool. It wasn’t. It was stupid, reckless and you could have killed yourself not to mention other innocents who’s only mistake was being on the road with you.